Active Directory Users and Computers – WITH Exchange Tabs on a Vista Box

I read this in WServerNews and thought it was a great tip
that I wanted to remember.

 

You can install the Windows Server 2003 Administration Tools
Pack on a Vista-based computer to manage ADUC (Active Directory Users and
Computers). You can currently get this from http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=e487f885-f0c7-436a-a392-25793a25bad7&DisplayLang=en
or simply use a Windows Server 2003 SP1 CD. ENSURE that you right-click on this
file and select “Run as Administrator” when installing so
everything gets registered correctly. If not you should go here to resolve http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx/kb/930056.

 

Now for the cool part…to add the Exchange tabs in
ADUC. After installing go to a machine that already has the Exchange Admin Pack
installed and copy the following files into your c:windowssystem32 directory
of your Vista box.

 

ADDRESS.DLL (I found in the Program FilesExchsrvrbin
folder of our Exchange server)
ESCPRINT.DLL (I found in the Program FilesExchsrvrbin folder of our Exchange
server)
EXCHMEM.DLL (I found in the Program FilesExchsrvrbin folder of our Exchange
server)
glblname.dll (I found in the Program FilesExchsrvrbin folder of our Exchange
server)
maildsmx.dll (I found in the Program FilesExchsrvrbin folder of our Exchange
server)
netui0.dll (I found in the windowssystem32 folder of our Exchange server)
netui1.dll (I found in the windowssystem32 folder of our Exchange server)
netui2.dll (I found in the windowssystem32 folder of our Exchange server)
PTTRACE.DLL (I found in the Program FilesExchsrvrbin folder of our Exchange
server)

Lastly, at an elevated command-prompt register maildsmx.dll
by typing regsvr32 /s c:windowssystem32maildsmx.dll

 

That’s it. Pretty sweet.

About Brian Drab

IT Manager with an absolute love for technology!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Active Directory Users and Computers – WITH Exchange Tabs on a Vista Box

  1. Kevin says:

    I have done this on my production Vista PC and it works great…..however I am now trying to get the same thing working on an x64 install of Windows 7 RC and running into a problem. When I go to register the maildsmx.dll file I get an error saying it failed to load and that "The specified module could not be found". Any recommendations? I have read in other forums that it is related to the directory structure in x64.

  2. logo says:

    Nice replies in return of this question with real arguments
    and describing all about that.

  3. tubelaunch says:

    I’m really loving the theme/design of your website. Do you ever run into any web browser compatibility problems? A handful of my blog audience have complained about my website not working correctly in Explorer but looks great in Firefox. Do you have any suggestions to help fix this issue?

  4. Danuta says:

    I like it when people come together and share thoughts. Great website, keep it up!

  5. Greetings! Very helpful advice within this post!
    It is the little changes that produce the biggest changes.

    Thanks for sharing!

  6. On top of this, unsaturated fats provide
    a slow release of energy, so unlike high sugar foods and refined carbohydrates,
    will keep you satiated for longer. If the your body fat
    is above 25% but below 30% (Women) or above 20% but below 25% ( Men) then you are overweight, you are carrying more fat around than you need
    or that is healthy for you and it probably means you are eating too
    much of the wrong foods. But let me explain the whole concept of
    this diet program.

  7. I am really inspired with your writing skills as smartly as with the format for your weblog.

    Is this a paid topic or did you customize it your self? Anyway stay up the excellent
    high quality writing, it’s uncommon to peer a nice weblog like this one these days..

  8. Hi, this weekend is good designed for me, because this time i am reading
    this fantastic informative post here at my home.

Leave a comment